Skip links and keyboard navigation

The Honourable David Crisafulli MP, Minister for Local Government, Community Recovery and Resilience announced that de-amalgamations would proceed in four Queensland local government areas, namely:

  • Noosa Shire Council de-amalgamating from the Sunshine Coast Regional Council
  • Livingstone Shire Council de-amalgamating from the Rockhampton Regional Council
  • Mareeba Shire Council de-amalgamating from the Tablelands Regional Council
  • Douglas Shire Council de-amalgamating from the Cairns Regional Council

In all cases the de-amalgamations will be to the boundaries as they existed at the 2008 council amalgamations.

The Local Government (De-amalgamation Implementation) Regulation 2013, which formalised the process, was enacted on 11 April 2013.

The transition phase commenced on 12 April 2013 with the appointment of transfer managers, who will oversee the transition process and establish the new local government. The Minister has also appointed a local advisory committee for each area to provide advice to the transfer managers on local issues.

Elections were held on 9 November 2013.

The new councils will officially commence operations on 1 January 2014.

For further information about each de-amalgamation, please refer to the relevant section: